Gideon’s Photography

Okay- More updates are afoot around here!
 
For a start this site has actually changed it’s name- From Gideon’s Travels to Gideons Photography. Why? Because it’s all I ever talk about here! This wasn’t exactly my original intention, but like most blogs, it seems, a certain pattern of tendencies has emerged- perhaps because a lot of my life really does revolve around my photography (including my travels, I should add). Look out for another blog some time in the future with stories of my trips, though there will still be such tales here under the subject ‘Japan Travelogue’.
 
I’ve also been experimenting with other ways to show my photos. I added some ‘flash-based’ slideshows to A Day in the Life, using a wonderful program called Slide. It’s free, so presumably they make some money from advertisers using it or advertising on their site, but it is really cool and fun to use. It may have been updated recently as the last time I checked it let me specify the type of transitions i wanted on the slideshow and also the size of it- was was great for fitting it in the sidebar of my photoblog. As for using it here on MSN Spaces, probably only the HTML-based ones will work here, I believe, as Flash and Java isn’t supported. But if you check modding-sites like Hack MSN Spaces, you may yet find a way. It has certainly spiced up my photoblog and the animation helps to ‘bring my photos to life’.
 
I also set up a mini free-gallery on the site Yahoo!-based site Flickr. They have some interesting concepts there such as ranking photos by their ‘interestingness’- apparently my Mt Fuji photos there are deemed more interesting than the others on this basis (I have no idea why as they have less views than some of the oothers, but one of them was chosen as a ‘favorite’ by someone). Certainly, they promote the school of vivid and unusual perspectives there and I’ve seen some fantastic images from their recommended ones, quite unique photos unlike ones I’d seen before, so it’ll be interesting to be involved.
 

If you think you have some good, or even just some interesting photos, then why not put a little effort into sharing them more widely? I’ve met people who took some wonderful shots of places they’ve been and things they’ve seen and the only thing that everyone’s photos have in common is that they are all unique and slightly different from everybody else’s. That’s right- photos are like snowflakes- all special and unique- so why not share a bit of that with everyone else? Someone, somewhere wants to see your photos and will thank you for showing them- so why not get involved…. it’s a lot of fun!

 
 
Note: As with most of my articles here, just click on the different-coloured words to link to the things I’ve talked about, such as Flickr or Slide. In fact, I aim to share my knowledge with others as to how to start sharing photos on the web- something I am only just discovering. Stay tuned for more as and when I discover it! You can also, by the way, click on the small thumbnails of photos to make them larger.
 
Adios!
 
 
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

