Spring Macros

Justa few days ago, I used my new Tamron Di 90mm macro lens for the first time. It had just rained a bit and I was on the way home, so I stopped into my perrenial favourite garden at Tozenji Temple. "What are you taking photos of today?" the lady who looks after the place asked in Japanese, who is always seeing me there and makes me feel at home. "Just the flowers and insects today!" I answered.
 
As for the experience – all I can say is… Wow! The detail, the colours, the artistic natural forms. I really felt like an explorer in another world- travelling without moving.There was an almost regal quality to the structures of plants and their interactions with insects- I can see why people talk of ‘The Plant Kingdom’. I can see I can have a lot of fun with daily adventures with this lens. Not only the images are beautiful, but also the feeling of seeing this other world, often hidden, but bright, colourful and magical. The nearest thing I can compare it to is snorkeling or scuba diving- where you are immersed in the vivid colours and entranced by the variety of life there. What also helped is the qualities of this lens- light, bright and sharp, with an indescribably beautiful ‘bokeh’, of creamy backgrounds. Sometimes they look like the background was airbrushed in.
 
You can see them all clearly either on pbase or as a Day in the Life ‘set’.
 
Note- I’ve put some up in a slideshow here too, but unfortunately there is a lot of ‘compression’ applied to them, to make them smaller to upload. They keep a certain prettiness, but I find a lot of the detail is lost by it. The ones on pbase, though, should have the full detail, having file sizes 4-5 times larger. I feel that what I’m making there is a true online gallery. However, I had to pay for the use of the space there, whilst here it’s all for free!
 
 
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

