A Little History of My Photography

For some time now I have had the dream of doing something creatively with images. This began far before I was interested in computers or in the digital world. You could say it began in 1992, when I was exploring Egypt and was very impressed by the paintings in tombs, which reminded me of comic-strips. How could people so long ago see things in a way I could appreciate? I thought.
 
I then got very into William Blake’s Writing. Not just the writing but more the way he combined it with his paintings. I’m not a painter, so when I was a university student studying Religious Studies and Creative Writing, I tried doing something similar with photography, then with my first camera, a small Olympus compact. It was a really fun project to work on, and I combined prints of the English countryside along with my poems. I found a very rich feeling in the sunsets and seascapes of West Sussex; the warm golden glow at the end of a day, the seemingly endless expanse of the sea, country lanes with small shops and cottages. It was a very beautiful area to be a student in.
 
Now for a while I have been focusing on photography mostly and writing other pieces separately… but with the advent of blogs (and my discovering of them), I’ve found another way to mix words and images- my photo-blogs and also, to some extent, the annotated photos in online galleries. The great thing about all of this is the feedback, which gives me pleasure, knowing others are enjoying my work and also indications as to where it is at it’s most interesting.
 
My photography is generally of the beautiful things I see, that I feel are being shown to me. I don’t feel like I have any way near the creative control over it that say an artist had over his paintings. Sure, I can control composition, lighting and the way I post-process the RAW file, but most of this in the name of accurate representation… not that others aren’t more creative than me with their composition and so on. This is something I am working on, to make my pictures more ‘my own’. Yet there is also another way to do this, which I will speak about in the next article on this subject… more to come…
 
 
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

