The World Cup Continues…

The World Cup is rolling on, being watched by the world’s teeming billions. No doubt some nearby civilizations are also taking a keen interest, this being (arguably) the very greatest of the planet’s sporting events. With limited equipment and with the ultimate in team-play management, ‘The Beautiful Game’ is both thriving and varied, offering many an unexpected conclusion.

 

I was pretty surprised the other day, having stayed up to watch most of the Japan vs Australia game and having only seen one goal come in, in what was probably a foul, that would have given Japan the victory they’d been hoping for. I woke up to learn the Aussies had scored three goals in the closing minutes whilst I’d been snoozing! Whilst this is good news for Oz, it is obviously not so much so for Japan, who has put a lot of hope into their team. Football (or soccer, as it is known here), is quite a new sport in Japan but is quickly becoming more popular and fashionable. As far as the feeling for this event goes, I obviously want the best for Japan, although I’ve met many a wonderful Aussie here and on my travels. I can’t quite come up with the words for this myself, so I will turn to the great Haiku (short three-line poem) artist Masuo Basho-

 

Ah, summer grasses!
All that remains
Of the warriors dreams.

(Translated by R.H. Blyth, you can find more here).

  

Just now, I watched the game that was on late in the night over here- England Vs Trinidad. Seeing those beautiful goals go in and knowing we made it into the top-16 is certainly a good feeling. The team certainly seems a lot more complete with the inclusion of Wayne Rooney, a point not lost on the supporters who were literally begging for him on the pitch. Trinidad certainly played well, too and made our Rooney-less team’s life far from easy. Yet now we are in there and about to face the big boys of the tournament. As the crowd chants, “Come on England!”

 

For now, at least, they’ve done us proud.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Gideon

     /  July 8, 2006

    Thanks for the interest, 花花. I\’ve been so busy watching games I didn\’t update this blog, but that\’s gonna change today!

    Reply
  2. eva

     /  July 1, 2006

    feeling a liitle difficult reading, maybe we watch too many american soaps. Though not a big fan of the England team, I now wish they will win over Germany or Brazil.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

