L.A. Jones and the Max Blues Band

Just last night I went out with some friends to Takadanobaba to see L.A. Jones play with the Max Blues Band, all organised by Marcus who seems to know eveyone there! It was a good night out. We struggled a bit to find somewhere to eat, me being a vegetarian and others wanting gyu-don (sliced beef on rice) and ended up at Shakeys. I am happy to report that their regular, freshly-made pizza is a lot better than the stuff with the lunch salad bar and I enjoyed every bite!
 
 
 As for the music, it was a fantastic performance by the band and of course L.A. himself, who flew into Tokyo for the month. He’s a guy who’s full and life and very passionate about his Blues, much of which he improvised as he went along. I uploaded these brief clips to YouTube, taken (badly!) on our Fuji F30 digicam, so you can see what I mean-
 
                     ***   L.A. Jones and The Max Blues Band  ***
 
Nothing like a night out with the lads and some live music too! It wasn’t just a Blues night, either- we were treated to a lively display of Ballroom dancing before the Blues got going, by some of The Fiddler’s most distinguished customers.
 
G.
 
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Gideon

     /  September 22, 2006

    Please note the photographic proof of the visit (well I suppose it could have been taken by someone else). Yes, dinner-time at Shakeys is actually not too bad at all, I\’d even go so far as to say I enjoyed it. Yes, that sacred-texts DVD has totally changed my outlook on life, even Shakeys tastes good now!

    Reply
  2. The Whitemeister

     /  September 19, 2006

    i am speechless. I am completely lost for words. I really dont know what to say. I can\’t believe what i have just read. Gideon Davidson in Shakeys Pizza which i am sure you swore you would never go in again. I think this occasion should have been marked with a whole article dedicated to it 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

