And Now for Something Just a Little bit Different…

The last few days have been as filled as any over here in London. We went to see Spamalot, the Eric Idle adaptation of Monty Python and the Holy Grail for the theater. As all the billboards like to say, it is ‘lovingly ripped off’. I suppose it was all ultimately a bit tacky, but I enjoyed it a lot, especially seeing once again the Knights who say ‘Ni’ and hearing ‘Only Look on the Bright Side of Life’ (even though that was taken from The Life of Brian, a film I actually like better). What made me laugh the most, though, were the ridiculous fight scenes, like when one knight gets his head bitten off by a very dangerous rabbit and the Black Knight who just won’t give up, even when he tries to fight no limbs left, “Tis but a scratch… just a flesh wound, I’ve had worse”.

Some might say that Python is over, but for me it’s pretty timeless stuff and if one of Shakespeare’s comedies is seen as relevant enough to go onstage even now, why not Python!? It also ended on a thoughtful note- if the Holy Grail is really just a symbol for something we want to find in our own lives, what are our ‘Holy Grails’?

This was all followed by a delicious Chinese meal in China Town, where I noticed that the vegetables seem to be much crisper and fresher than I remember them- perhaps people expect more these days? It came with one of my all-time favourites, the Peking Crispy Duck, cooked to perfection with the sweet plum sauce. This is one food I can never have too much of, just I can never have too much of Monty Python’s jokes!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

