When a TV is More Than a TV

Sorry for the dearth of articles lately and also for my delays in garnishing my recent posts with pictures (though that has been due to the incredible fiddliness of posting pictures up here whilst traveling, something I intend to make up for now I’m back). The truth is, there have been some pretty major changes to my life, mainly taking place in my living room!

For years I have been watching DVDs and editing pictures on this small 17-inch CRT monitor, but not for long. When I got back from my trip I decided to bite the bullet and choose a new TV, as it was getting to the point where waiting for prices to drop and technology to improve was actually making me miss out on being able to use one and with summer about to end, I wanted one soon. So found one I did- a 46 inch Sharp LCD monster with 1080p full high-definition resolution, at about a third of it’s original price (so about half it’s original sale price). After a bit of setting up- wow, what a beautiful picture! We get some digital TV here at 1080i (that’s about twice the resolution of a DVD, which is 480p, the p being for progressive-scanning) and you can clearly see every face in a crowd. Nature documentaries are simply stunning- anything you really want to look at benefits.

For a few days I just put my iBook through it on a VGA connection, and I’ve never seen that interface so clearly. Browsing the net was (is) a new experience- each photo looks clear on the page and YouTube benefits a lot, even though it isn’t so clear, it is more fun. The iBook actually could send a 720p (1280×720 widescreen resolution) signal out, which simply looks great on the TV and also gives you quite a bit more resolution than the iBook screen. I was pretty happy with this, but with such a great TV, I wanted more, so I went out and without really expecting to, got something else to go with it, which will soon be revealed on this space,,,

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

