Nova – The Very End?

The internet seems to be a pretty mayor thing for us all now. Once I would follow this kind of thing on the TV news, but it’s all so embarrassing for those involved that it receives very little coverage. The internet, though, has been abuzz with it though (well, amongst teachers in Japan, at least) and I’m seeing a wide variety of views, though almost all in support of the obviously mistreated teachers. I found there to be a tonne of variously entertaining, intelligent, moving and occasionally even brainless posts on these forums-
Let’s Japan.Org
Gaijinpot.com

Two of my favourite threads are these ones- Nova… it’s Ova, one started by Yoda himself and the New Nova Usagi Designs (I especially like the evil gremlin rabbits in the video here!) Meanwhile, my name on Let’s Japan, which seems to be officially covering this story more closely than anyone else, is currently ‘Life After Nova’, something only the readers of this blog know! I am trying to use what knowledge of the english-teaching world I have here to point people in the right direction and spread a bit of hope- but, whatever anyone thinks, this is still an unprecedented situation, an international incident. Nova employs about 5,000 foreign staff, now finding themselves in Japan without a paying job (though I suppose they might eventually pay late- but who knows for sure? Teachers who have quit 3 months ago have yet to get their back salaries and Nova owes billions of  yen in refunds to students). Fortunately, the Australian Consulate has woken up to the situation and I only hope others follow suit.

Overall, I won’t shed too many tears if Nova does go down in flames, as
it seems to be doing as I speak. Yet, I do have fond memories of things
that came as a consequence of it, as they provided such an easy route
to come to Japan, even if they do exploit so ruthlessly (and, it turned
out, illegally) in the process. I wonder if one of the other schools
will rise up to take their place, or if being quite that big required
certain compromised which would be bound to be exposed sooner or later.
Either way, I hope (good!) people can still find it easy to come to
Japan, as it’s a great place to be. Now that JET has been pretty much
scaled back to a sideshow, the job is falling to various companies. I
hope they treat their teachers a lot better than the ones in Nova. Now
it has reached the bitter end and I hear some who still go in are
wearing wigs and paper ties in protest. It’s always been a terrible
job- like so many others I was pleased to move on to something better
that didn’t have the nickname ‘NO VAcation’- and now, as a
school-teacher, I get bundles of time off, giving me the time to write
things like this!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

