The iPad Wish-list

Like many, I was severely bummed by the iPad when it finally arrived. I suppose I was foolish to get my hopes up, but it was something I really wanted to want- yet it has left me feeling all confused. the hype was so tremendous, I was ready even to save up for the ‘miracle machine’ being promised. Fortunately, I’m not alone in this, as most people who have an interest in tech commenting are very disappointed with the features as it stands. Sure, it does offer the start of a whole family of devices and it does do some remarkable things straight out of the box. It could well be a start towards such a device. Anyway, without further ado, here are my ‘wish list’ for a better iPad, or should I say, for a good Slate computer. I think they’re not unreasonable, sooner or later they’ll even be on smart-phones.

What’s missing from the iPad?

* USB
* HDMI
* Optical audio out
* A camera (preferably 5 mp, AF)
* LED flash unit
* A front-facing webcam (ideally 2 mp, supporting 720p capture)
* Stereo speakers, (similar to the one in the iPhone, but at each end of the device)
* Horizontal dock connector (perhaps covered with a sliding door)
* Widescreen HD display, similar to the 2/3 iPod aspect ratio (with at least 720P resolution)
* Adobe Flash support
* Java support
* SD card slot
* Multi-tasking
* (perhaps) Dual-core CPU

With all this, you’d certainly have a netbook killer. So what, you may say? Well, as Netbooks are selling like hotcakes but not really innovating or satisfying, it could take over from there. I think this is much more realistic than taking on the e-Readers, which need e-ink displays to be viable, though aren’t suitable for web-browsing. I can see all this arriving even by the time of the third iPad, but earlier- even this year- in other manufacturer’s Windows 7 or Android machines.

Well, since we are speculating, how about some future tech for the next batch, too? It might sound exotic, but I’d say this and more is all feasible in the next few years. I remember how much the iPhone blew (and still blows) me away, so let’s have an open mind…

Wishlist for G4 iPad/ HP Slate

* Multitouch, 3D-capable, 1080p 7" screen
* HDMI 1.4 3D output
* 4-core, 2Ghz CPU
* 12MP (flat) 5x optical zoom camera ,with backlit sensor,
* ‘Stereo’ dual front video webcams, capable of 120fps, 1080p 3D video capture
* 1TB/2TB Flash Storage
* SDXC card slot
* USB 3
* 50 hour video playback
* Behind screen HE (high efficiency) solar panels
* Kinetic charger, that constantly recharges as the device moves
* Foldaway analogue joy-pads
* Universal remote, capable of controlling curtains and lights as well as A/V systems
* Laser-projected keyboard, for mid-air typing/ gestures
* ‘Make the tea’ button on the SE (special edition) model.

I think that’s enough. For now.

As it could well be…

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

