Golden Week

Now we have Golden Week, about a week of holidays here and it is great to have the time to do whatever I want to. The funny thing is, having been so busy recently, first dealing with the Earthquake and aftermath (around here), then with the trip to Europe, I kind of don’t feel like doing too much. There is plenty to do around here, with Teganuma to walk along, films to watch, YouTube videos to surf. Maybe a day or two-day trip, too, let’s see…

One great thing about having more time is it gives me more opportunity for blogging, in it’s various forms. It’s not much, but posting links to Twitter or updates here seems to have replaced my longer pieces of writing to an extent, but I intend to get back into it. To make it easier, I migrated some of my blogs from the relatively dull environment of Blogger and over to WordPress. WordPress just is so smooth, has so much customisation possible, it really gives me a better set of tools with which to express myself. Not only that, but at the click of a couple of buttons, I was able to transfer some blogs just as they were, and then enhance them with the templates available here.

Here they are-

Japan Travel (Formerly Japanophile)

A Day in the Life (Same name, but radical new photoblog style, click on the photos to change them and notice the way the background automatically matches).

Dreams and Reflections (Same, same. Have yet to jazz it up, though on the contrary, I want to keep it simple, as it is very much text-based).

Cosmic Understanding (As above, but will experiment with layouts and so on. I really like the way that topics are accessible from the top of the front page).

I didn’t transfer Moments of Eternity, yet. Late at night on March 10th, I decided to close it down until December 12th 2012, to be continued in the new world, since I hadn’t updated it for about 3 years anyway. In the meantime, I’ll probably transfer it over to WordPress. 

— Note… It has been transferred and to my mind, looks a lot better for it and even has the updated title as it’s address, (you can compare if you like. Here it is: Moments of Eternity

 

My newest and ‘main’ photoblog, Now and Zen, which aims to take over where A Day in the Life and Moments of Eternity left off, the Now being days in my life and the Zen being eternity in the now, will continue at Tumblr, where I think it fits in just fine. This format is probably what I was always hoping to do with a photoblog and I hope to spread good inspiration from there this way. I just hope to do more with it, sending over photos from Flickr to this wonderful ‘gallery’, or videos from YouTube, along with messages that show something of the feeling the scenes give me. 

So things are refreshed and ready for change! When I get my new iPad2, it should make blogging even easier and certainly more mobile. I’m looking for a lighter, more immediate style, to reflect our quickly-evolving and dynamically-experienced world.

Speak soon,

Gideon

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

