Michael Reichmann on the Canon SX50HS

Michael Reichmann on the Canon SX50HS

In this user report of the Canon Sx50HS, Michael gives us an enlightening glance at the uses of an ultrazoom, despite the small sensor. Put simply, it opens up the ability to take photos that otherwise would have been impossible, or at least improbable. The best lens is the one you have with you and do you fancy fitting any other 1,000mm type one in your day bag?

Reading this what got me looking into them, though as more of a Nikon man, I went for their P510, for the sharper results, at the expense of the Canon’s rich features (see my own review earlier for more on that). It’s not the first time he has put me onto a new camera. I previously bought another bridge camera, the Canon G9 based on his recommendations and it was my steady back-up camera and at times short trip camera for some years. Along with it’s adapters, it covered a wide range and in fact was often my ‘long’ lens alongside something wider. My P510 is the ‘replacement’, though due to it’s larger sensor and much more conservative zoom range (35-210mm), the G9 probably has better IQ at the end of the day. But if you don’t get the shot, what good is IQ anyway? I also tend to prefer Nikon’s colours, though that is more of a personal preference, if a very deep and essential one.

I sense Bridge cameras like these are making great strides forwards, for me (like him) to the point where they are already usable and likable, at least alongside other compact system cameras and DSLRs. Please do read his review, as he says it all, with a wealth of experience, better than I ever could.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Straight, No Chaser.

A Traditional Photography Blog - dehk © 2016

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

A Girl and Her Backpack

Living life and packing my backpack to the fullest!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world...

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

Love 2 Type

because I get off hammering the keyboard

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Little Orange World

Me, My World, Anything I Love, and Scattered Mind of Mine.

Dorkdaddy.com

misadventures in raising two... wait, no THREE well-adjusted kids in the grandest dork-tradition

Sweet Rains

"He sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust." (Matt. 5:45)

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Myau Myau's photo gallery

flower, garden, Japanese temple & cat

